May 20th – Remembrance

A new day, a new poem–one, quite frankly, that came out of nowhere. The funny thing is, I’ve been reading mostly romance-y young adult novels as of late, and nothing like the setting of the poem has ever occured, nor has anything like it happened in my life … ever, let alone recently. I suppose that’s the beauty of writing!

Remembrance

I’m trying to remember

How you looked

The last time I saw you

I’m trying to remember

Your reaction

When I told you we were through

I’m trying to remember

What you said

To show that you’re lying right now

I don’t remember you

Crying

Begging me to stay

I don’t remember you

Apologizing

For all the hurt you caused me

I don’t remember you

Promising

You would change

I remember

You betraying me

Thinking I wouldn’t find out

I remember

The pain

You didn’t care I felt

I remember

Letting you go

And you running off to your “other”

Don’t you dare

Grovel

At my feet now

Don’t you dare

Say

You’ve changed forever

Don’t you dare

Apologize

And tell me you love me

I remember

You don’t mean it

Leave a Reply

