June 17th – I Didn’t Want to Write Today

Today was just one of those days when I woke up and didn’t want to write. I was editing my National Novel Writing Month Novel for two hours really late last night–and I’ve been doing that every night for a while. Frankly, I’m starting to burn myself out. So, today I saw my notebook staring at me and had that sinking feeling of ‘NO. I do NOT want to write today.’ Well, there is two choices for a writer with that feeling: They can hide the notebook, or they can pick up a pen(cil).

I Didn’t Want to Write Today

I didn’t want to write today
But I knew I should
Not in my head
Mind you
But as any writer knows
In their heart

I didn’t want to write today
But I needed to
Reach out my hand
To grasp the stories
Being told
Just out of reach in my mind

I didn’t want to write today
But I put my notebook
In front of me
And clenched the pencil
In my hand because
I wouldn’t be me without them

I didn’t want to write today
But I did
And the words rewarded me
With their secrets
And I remembered again
Just why I love to write

I didn’t want to write today
But, as always,
I’m glad I did

16 thoughts on “June 17th – I Didn’t Want to Write Today

Leave a Reply

