June 21st – Forgotten

I suppose today’s poem has something to do with my latest short story, which was titled The Forgotten. However, while today’s poem doesn’t start today, I think it’s more upbeat than the first draft of the story! The word “forgotten” was, obviously, rolling around in my head and I got to thinking about everybody is afraid to be forgotten in the end–and today’s poem was born!

Forgotten

I don’t want to be forgotten
My name removed from all minds
My face wiped from all memories
My smile removed from all photographs
I don’t want to be the one
Who people only semi-mourn
Who leaves no mark on the world
Who slips away unnoticed
I don’t want to be the person
Left with a heart still empty
Left with a dream unfulfilled
Left with no hand to hold

I want to be someone
Whose name is on everyone’s lips
Whose face is recognized
Whose smile is glory-filled
I want to be the one
Who no one forgets
Who leaves giant footprints
Who goes out with a bang
I want to be the person
With a heart full to bursting
With a dream achieved
With a loving hand to hold

I refuse to be forgotten

7 thoughts on “June 21st – Forgotten

  1. What you write…from your heart and soul…leaves me speechless every single time…you are a very special lady and I love your work. How would anyone ever forget such talent! You Rock!!! I am your fan:) Warmest wishes x

  2. you expressed feelings here that I think everyone feels but most are afraid for some reason to admit…who doesn’t like applause and want to be remembered..I know I certainly do..and a hand to hold why that’s a perfect ending!

Leave a Reply

