July 3rd – Heat

Ok so … it’s REALLY hot today. REALLY hot. Like, I’m trying to hold a pencil and it keeps slipping. So, again, today’s poem is rather ugly, but HEY, it’s a poem, right? Hopefully this marks the day I get back on track with A Poem A Day at least!

Heat

It’s too hot today
To do anything
Even the pencil in my hand
Is slick with sweat
And begging my burning fingers
To release it
So instead of torturing it
And you
And me
I’m giving up on everything,
Going down to the lake,
Running at it,
Jumping,
And screaming
“Cannonball!”

6 thoughts on “July 3rd – Heat

Leave a Reply

