July 20th – Coward, Survivor

HA! I wrote something that isn’t blatantly depressing. Score! 😀 Anyways, this is also one of the first days in ever I’ve actually posted a poem a day. I think I should try fixing that, don’t you? No, we haven’t had this discussion before… 😀

Coward, Survivor

I can hear you laughing
Calling me a coward
Saying I’m weak
As my hands clench this threadbare rope
That’s keeping me from falling
Into your black abyss
My palms are bleeding
The drops falling down
Where they streak my face like tears
But I’m not letting go

I can hear you laughing
Calling me a coward
Saying I’m too afraid to face it
But here’s the facts
I might be hurting
But that’s just proof I can still feel
That I’m alive
You weren’t afraid
You let go
Now you don’t feel, don’t live

I can hear you laughing
Calling me a coward
Saying I’m less than you
But who you call a coward
I call a survivor
You’re the one who took the easy road
And let go
Laugh all you want from down there
Where you can’t see the light
This survivor sees a sunrise coming

6 thoughts on “July 20th – Coward, Survivor

Leave a Reply

