I Tried

I Tried

I tried, love
To stem the tides
To beat back the flames
But I lost the battle
I’m so ashamed
How did we come to this?

I tried, love
To not let it cut
To keep an optimistic perspective
I held them back when they would hurt you
But somehow I lost my way
I joined their side

I tried, love
To keep my heart glad to see you
To fill myself with trust of you
But I held on until I bled
And the wounds could not be healed
And sorry became a useless plea

I tried, love
But I will not live with the self-loathing
That comes from hating you

4 thoughts on “I Tried

  1. May the pain that breaks the heart be overcome by Love larger than pain and more powerful than bitterness. Your poems speak clearly to the severely wounded among us. Blessings to you…

  2. Scent of my heart says:

    Sad, touching poem. May you find the strength to try again Love and Happiness, as they hide well, but once found always worth the trouble and the pain! Thanks fof sharing this with us!

    Wishing you a Merry Christmas season!

    I want to say thank you for the support to Jingle Poetry, with you standing beside us, we are able to continue our efforts by providing the platform for poets who share and encourage…BEST wishes for the year 2011…your poetry has enlightened our community and made us smile.

    Blessings fly your way, Happy Holidays!

    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    Hope to see you on Sunday Poetry Potluck again, let me know if you have questions..old poems or poems unrelated to our theme are welcome..

    week 15 theme: reflections, interpretations, and musings.

    Take care and be blessed!

Leave a Reply

