Waiting on Wednesday: “The Selection” by Kiera Cass

Waiting on Wednesday is a feature hosted over at Breaking the Spine.

Title: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Expected Publication Date: April 24, 2012

Summary from Goodreads: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.
But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself- and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Why I’m Waiting: Because this book has hooked me from day one. The cover, the idea–everything. I know that some people have said bad things about it. I know some people have said good things about it. I’m totally ready to forget EVERYTHING and just READ THIS BOOK. It is literally ridiculous how badly I want my hands on this. Don’t ask me WHY I’m so excited, but I just am. Plus, this is becoming a CW show. The CW has some of my guilty pleasures (VD? Nikita? I shouldn’t, and yet…) This could either go amazingly or horribly and I’m delighted to find out which!

13 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: “The Selection” by Kiera Cass

  1. Agree agree AGREE. With everything you said. Especially about the shows. Vampire Diaries is definitely a guilty pleasure of mine. But anyways, I’m super excited to read The Selection and to see it on TV! (there are pretty people who’ve been cast for the show. so that helps too) Thanks for sharing!!

    Feel free to check out my WoW here!

  2. lauren0025 says:

    Great pick! It’s been gaining a lot of press by being piloted by The CW which makes me want to read it even more. If it definitely gets picked up I’m going to have to get my hands on a copy of it before it airs this fall. Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s my WoW if you’d like to check it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

