Teaser Book Review: “The City’s Son” by Tom Pollock

You may be asking yourself, what in the world is a teaser review? It’s NOT a full book review, is what that is. I got this book from NetGalley, but it won’t be published until Sept 8, 2012, and I CANNOT wait months to talk to you guys about it. So here we go!

The City’s Son (Skyscraper Throne #1) by Tom Pollock (Click for Goodreads)

A stunningly original urban fantasy debut

Running from her traitorous best friend and her estranged father, graffiti artist Beth Bradley is looking for sanctuary. What she finds is Urchin, the ragged and cocky crown prince of London’s mystical underworld. Urchin opens Beth’s eyes to the city she’s never truly seen-where vast spiders crawl telephone wires seeking voices to steal, railwraiths escape their tethers, and statues conceal an ancient priesthood robed in bronze.

But it all teeters on the brink of destruction. Amid rumors that Urchin’s goddess mother will soon return from her 15-year exile, Reach, a malign god of urban decay, wants the young prince dead. Helping Urchin raise an alleyway army to reclaim his skyscraper throne, Beth soon forgets her old life. But when her best friend is captured, Beth must choose between this wondrous existence and the life she left behind.

MY READING JOURNEY

7% complete: “Not sure how I feel about the tense changing with the POV. However…this book reads like YA fantasy pre-Twilight. Not sure if I like it or not.”          

18% complete: “I am so utterly confused. Beth. You just signed up in blood to fight a battle with/for a boy you JUST MET. I have absolutely no idea how that moved that fast. *I* did not understand a thing he just “explained” and I’ve been reading from his POV.”

20% complete: “This does NOT read like a first in a series. I feel like I’m missing SO MUCH.”

36% complete: “Oh. So in the computer copy I have, they show splits were the POV/tense changes in a chapter. But guys, really?
Also, did we just blow over a mention of Pen being raped? Because I can’t even tell if that was rape or sex she participated in without enjoying and that makes me ridiculously angry.”

38% complete: “Are sections of this book MISSING? I’m now legitimately curious. It’s either that or I’m missing something BIG. Multiple somethings big.”

61% complete: “And just when I think it’s getting better, that goes and happens. Aren’t they, like, 15? Because that was just awkward and out of place.”

76% complete: “I have all of the feelings about this book.”

NOW AT 100% COMPLETE: 3 1/2 stars

THIS WORLD. GUYS. IT MAKES ME DROOL. Literally. I slobber like a dog. (Okay, that’s not literally. Wait. None of it is. Never mind.) But I did drool! Sorta! SO REFRESHING. SO NEAT. I LOVE. The updates become less towards the end for a REASON. If you wait out the first half, the second half is spectacular. Yeah, I had my issues, but GUYS. There is so much refreshing, original potential here I could dance. The description of war, it’s consequences and it’s harshness is done to near perfection. I can’t wait to share my full review with you guys in August!

3 thoughts on “Teaser Book Review: “The City’s Son” by Tom Pollock

Leave a Reply

