ARC Review: “Dead of Night” by Lynn Viehl

Dead of Night (The Youngbloods #2) by Lynn Viehl (Click for Goodreads)

3 stars

True love . . . and an undying obsession

Catlyn Youngblood has a secret life. Despite being a natural-born vampire hunter like her two older brothers, Cat has fallen for Jesse–an ageless boy from a centuries-old vampire clan.

Cat’s job cataloguing rare, mystical texts at a bookstore allows her to meet with Jesse alone every evening. But when girls who look disturbingly similar to Cat start disappearing from town, Cat and Jesse discover frightening clues to their whereabouts within the book collection. Together, they must stop a crazed man from realizing his dark scheme– one that would claim Cat’s life.

This review is based on an ARC received from NetGalley. You can get a copy of your own July 8, 2012.

Now, if you don’t know this already, I can’t stand when books don’t have a lot of action. It’s just a personal preference. I need to constantly get moving or I get bored.

For the first half of this book, I was really bored.

Don’t get me wrong, the mythology that was being explored was fascinating and the potential for action was great, but it just didn’t have it. The writing didn’t hook me either, so–in the words of a Goodreads update–I was reading along going “hum-dee-dum.” I kept waiting for something to happen with all the ticking time bombs that were clearly lying around–really, ANYTHING to happen. But it took about halfway through the book for the pace to pick up.

Actually, maybe it was sooner, but I couldn’t tell. I’ll be honest, the pick up in pace kinda snuck up on me. It was very subtle, though to be honest it was action so much as things finally started to be figured out and the plot started coming together. The pace got faster and faster towards the end of the book, but action was still mostly absent. It was more suspense then anything else. Since I’m an action girl this wasn’t particularly my style, but by the end of the book I was liking it a lot more.

However, the end continued to have issues. Since it is near the end I can’t explain, but there were some logically inconsistencies that popped up that were serious plot points … but didn’t make sense. The book is told in first person, and some serious misuse of that point of view happened here. In first person, you can’t explain a scene and then go back and say, “Whoops here’s what I was ACTUALLY doing” later on. It doesn’t work like that, at least not well, but it happened multiple times towards the very end.

All in all, I liked Dead of Night. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t dislike it either. However, it lacked fast pacing for two long and was too devoid of action for me to really fall in love with it. The ending left an opening for a very action packed next book, so that ought to be interesting if that’s the road Viehl chooses to take with it. This book clearly had that potential, but it just didn’t go all the way.

Leave a Reply

