Armchair BEA: Introductions

Armchair BEA

Have you ever had that moment where you’re like “I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT I’M DOING BUT GERONIMO”? Because I’m having that right now. This is my first time participating in Armchair BEA, because I’m way too depressed that I don’t get to actually go to BEA. Also, I’ve been stalking this event since I first heard about it and decided it was time to man up. So here’s my introduction, I guess!

Headshot1. Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

Well, my name is Gretchen, and I’ve been blogging for about three years. When I started this blog, it was for my poetry, because I got it in my head that I wanted to try writing a poem a day. When the embarrassment of having my poetry online for all to see became too much, I realized DUH I LOVE BOOKS and that it was far less painful to fangirl over the books I was reading. That transition happened slowly, though, so I can’t give it an exact date. From that point on, blogging was practically an addiction because … well, I don’t have to tell you guys how cool this is. 😛

2. Where in the world are you blogging from? Tell a random fact or something special about your current location. Feel free to share pictures.

I am blogging from a teeny tiny town in the Adirondacks of New York. Middle of Nowheresville, Nowhere, is honestly the best name for it. Although most of the year I blog from college, which is Ithaca College in Ithaca, Ny (I’m a rising sophomore). For something special about my current location … I live on a lake with awesome sunsets? I think that’s pretty special.

lake3. What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2013?

I’m currently in between books, having just finished The Innocent Mage by Karen Miller and just about to start The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise. My favorite book so far in 2013 is probably Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. ALL. THE. FEELS.

4. Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.

I am a PADI certified scuba diver, with certifications in Altitude Diving, DPV or underwater scooter driving and underwater photography! I think that’s pretty awesome, if I do say so myself.

Me scuba5. Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read? 

Is it bad that one of my favorite posts is a rant post that I wrote? I had just DNFed Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey, and I got on my soap box about the messages that young girls can take away from books like that. It was the most impassioned post I think I’ve ever written, and I’m still really proud of it.

 

10 thoughts on “Armchair BEA: Introductions

  1. Hey Gretchen,nice introduction post.I started blogging by posting my poetry online as well but the embarrassment of having my poetry online made me reconsidered.My poetry blog is still up though i just haven’t put any thing new.

    It’s pretty awesome that you’re a PADI certified scuba diver. What made you decied to do the Armchair BEA thing?

  2. You’re not kidding about the awesome sunsets–bet it’s even more spectacular in person!
    I’m also quite impressed by the scuba diving. I’ve always wanted to learn, but I don’t really have much access to do so(one day, though!).

  3. I just read your rant post. I felt the same way about Hush, Hush. It’s all about how those issues are presented; if the character realizes a guy is stalking or is abusive, and deals with it, that’s one thing. But like you, I have difficulty reading about love interests who are disrespectful to young women and set a bad precedent of sexy/dangerous if the danger is a legit threat that is not dealt with.

  4. What a cool hobby! I think I’d be terrified to go SCUBA diving, but love that you’re certified and take pictures under water! You should share some of them with us! (unless you already have and I just missed them…) 🙂

  5. I enjoy writing poetry too, though I am way to nervous to share my poems publicly. Good job being brave enough to post yours! I love the way you described you town “middle of nowheresville” and the pic of the water in the sunset!

  6. Welcome to Armchair BEA! I completely understand your depression. I think all of us who participate in Armchair BEA are upset and depressed that we can’t actually make it to BEA for realz. But happy first time participating in Armchair BEA. There’s nothing to be worried or concerned about, though I completely understand you feeling that way–that’s how I felt last year. I really enjoyed Clockwork Princess, but any end of a series is bittersweet for me. My husband’s is a certified scuba diver. So that’s cool. Enjoy the rest of your Armchair BEA experience.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

Leave a Reply

