I’m writing again! (Otherwise known as, “Why there is no review up today.”)

Last semester, a friend of mine finally convinced me to get a Tumblr. (This is me. Seriously.)

A thing

There is a cat. Deal with it. It’s the internet.

What does that have to do with me writing? Well, it started off with me following a bunch of writing blogs on Tumblr. I’ve always been a really visual person, so the writing prompts with visuals and quotes really started to get me going. Also, stuff like this:

I hadn’t written in months, and I always had some kind of excuse for it. I wasn’t confident in my ideas, I couldn’t get a plot point to work, I didn’t have the time. But, in the end, all I was really doing was not writing. Which basically means that that whole time I should have just forfeited my writer card, because you are not a writer if you aren’t writing.

I also went through (and am going through) a bunch of stuff that made me really depressed. Like, the not sleeping, not eating, not living kind of depressed. Usually I could fill that kind of a void with books, but with the rigorous schedule I’d set for myself with this blog because I’m so behind, that wasn’t fun. It was work, and it was work I once again wanted to avoid. But I also didn’t want to be left alone with my own thoughts. So one day I picked up a notebook and … I wrote.

I actually haven’t gotten that far yet, but that’s not what matters. What matters is that I’m doing what I love again. All that fear that I had built up wasn’t getting me anywhere, and my characters were getting loud. It’s part of me accepting that there are certain parts of you that will never go away completely. Sometimes that’s not a good thing, but in this instance it is. I’d forgotten just how much fun this was.

Oh, and in case you’re really here wondering why there is no review up today, it’s because I had the choice between reading and writing and decided that I’d put off writing long enough. Back to reviews on Monday! Here’s some Nick Fury for your patience.

2 thoughts on “I’m writing again! (Otherwise known as, “Why there is no review up today.”)

Leave a Reply

