Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Goals for 2014

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish!

I actually don’t normally think in terms of New Years resolutions, unless it’s really boring things (I need to eat better!) or really big things (I need to be more social!).  But now that you mention it, Top Ten Tuesday, I do have a few things I should probably be doing…and because I’m bad at resolutions, I’m including my writing goals too!  (Actually, you can blame writing for how rushed this post is.  I’m editing a story to submit to the Dells, and it’s sucking out my soul.)

  1. Read more things that are not YA.  I read…a lot of YA.  I am extremely well-versed in YA.  I can walk into the YA section at any local bookstore and immediately pick out all the books that look unfamiliar, because THERE AREN’T THAT MANY OF THEM.  So I’d like to read some other things.  Non-YA fantasy, for instance.  I may be writing something that isn’t YA right now (maybe) and I should be better-versed in the genre if that’s the case.
  2. Read at least three books outside school that are nonfiction.  I tend to forget that not all books are stories, and they can, in fact, convey information.  History, for instance!  I love history.  Or research for my aforementioned work in progress, which brings me to…
  3. Finish writing my current novel and actually start editing.  I’m bad at editing.  I am very bad at editing.  But this thing is going to need a lot of it…
  4. Write at least three new short stories.  And get them critiqued.  And edit them.
  5. Critique more people’s stories.  Because, uh…it’s good practice?
  6. Blog more consistently.  Duh.
  7. Read more new books.  One of the things that made me blog less was the fact that I just love rereading and will do it until the end of time if allowed.  Especially when school starts eating my time, because getting to the bookstore and picking books is, for me, a lengthy process that my mother once described as ‘wallowing’.
  8. Actually, I should probably make sure I do all the reading for my classes, too.  Boring, sometimes, but I am in college to learn stuff, not to ace exams.
  9. Read at least one thing in Latin that isn’t for class.  Probably this will NOT happen during the school year.  But this, for instance, would be a great choice…also my boyfriend just found me a copy of The Little Prince translated into Latin, because he is magic and knows me very well…
  10. Find new authors whose writing I can adore.  I tend to pick favorite authors and follow their work obsessively.  It’s possible that I could use a few more favorites…

That’s all I can think of for now!  How about you?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Goals for 2014

Leave a Reply

