From the Notebook: February Wrap Up

Happy last day of February everybody! Today I am bringing you my monthly reading wrap up, since this just happened to fall so nicely. I read a lot more than I thought in February, though a lot of it was for school. Okay, 11 isn’t usually a huge number for me but considering what I’ve been working through, it feels like a lot. And, yes, some of the books for school I didn’t read in full, but … I’m counting them. Fight me. Hopefully in March I’ll have some more entertaining books to read. Please, for the love of all that’s chocolate.

Monthly PopSugar update: I only ticked off two new categories this month, sadly – book with a blue cover and book about a culture you’re unfamiliar with. 8/40 complete!

Links mentioned in post:

Weekly Wrap Up + What We Read 2/28/16

Welcome to another weekly wrap up! While our blog content was, of course, impressive our reads this week … were not so much. Michaela is working hard at Barnes and Noble now, and I’ve got school, so she’s down to my reading level. Ha! As long as it doesn’t impact blog content, right? Without further ado, here we go!

Monday:

Tuesday:

Wednesday:

Thursday: 

Friday:

Betwixt the Books Review: “The Gracekeepers” by Kirsty Logan

Look what we’ve managed! A second joint review. Unlike with Paper Towns, this one is a lot more divided – but that is why we do these things! Michaela liked it more than I did, but we both had our issues with this one. Turns out, hype is not always what it’s cracked up to be!

51jwue6mtpl-_sy344_bo1204203200_The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan

Goodreads | Amazon

A lyrical and moving debut in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood, introducing an original and commanding new voice in fiction

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, sending the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

Gretchen’s Rating: 3 stars | Michaela’s Rating: 4 stars