For I Am A Patriot

For I Am A Patriot

I am a soldier
Standing on the battlefield
Where we have yet to fight
Holding on to my musket
With fingers that tremble with strength
Watching for the enemy colors
To cross the ridge before me
As I stand with my brethren
And we hold our breaths
Hoping that today isn’t our day to die
But it if is
Lord let it be bravely

For I am a patriot

From back home they say they miss me
They say I should return
When I tell them of the lack of food
The constant stench of death
My ragged clothes
And the depression of the camp
They remind me of all that I am missing
And all that I could have
Warmth and love and happiness
Now who wouldn’t want that?
But even in the depth of my sorrows
I reply “Not yet, not today”

For I am a patriot

And when the day is done
And we can hoist our colors in the air
The people cheer
The men rejoice
And the singing fills the sky
Some comrades may be dead but they
Died in the greatest way
So we celebrate their deaths
And our survival to fight another day
For we are the winners of this battle
And I know we will be the winners of the war
What else could we be?

For I am a patriot

5 thoughts on “For I Am A Patriot

  1. Jingle says:

    You are represented as fresh poets to explore, yet not a participant until you place your entry in…
    You are invited to attend poets rally week 34, read the agreement and place your link in when you are ready, have fun! Poetry awards are given upon participation on or by Sunday.
    Happy Friday!

Leave a comment