Waiting on Wednesday: Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff

Waiting on Wednesday is a feature hosted over at Breaking the Spine.

Title: Stormdancer (The Lotus Wars #1) (Click for Goodreads)

Author: Jay Kristoff

Expected Publication: September 1, 2012

Summary from Goodreads: A DYING LAND The Shima Imperium verges on the brink of environmental collapse; decimated by clockwork industrialization and the machine-worshipers of the Lotus Guild. The skies are red as blood, land choked with toxic pollution, wildlife ravaged by mass extinctions.
AN IMPOSSIBLE QUEST The hunters of Shima’s imperial court are charged by their Shōgun to capture a thunder tiger – a legendary beast, half-eagle, half-tiger. But any fool knows thunder tigers have been extinct for more than a century, and the price of failing the Shōgun is death.
A SIXTEEN YEAR OLD GIRL Yukiko is a child of the Fox clan, possessed of a hidden gift that would see her executed by the Lotus Guild. Accompanying her father on the Shōgun’s hunt, she finds herself stranded: a young woman alone in Shima’s last wilderness, with only a furious, crippled thunder tiger for company. Even though she can hear his thoughts, even though she saved his life, all she knows for certain is he’d rather see her dead than help her.
But together, the pair will form an indomitable friendship, and rise to challenge the might of an empire.

Why I’m Waiting: One, this cover is a literally work of art. You cannot tell me that isn’t gorgeous. Two, I’m a SUCKER for anything related to Japanese-based stuff. Seriously. Like you have no idea. Plus, guys, this sounds SO COOL. September is a FREAKING LONG TIME to wait, but I don’t care. Sign me up now!

19 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff

  1. Right there with you on Japanese based stuff. I have even started to study the language a bit. So far I can count a little and know a few sayings, lol. Hoping to learn some more. I am obsessed with their fashion, too.

    The cover for this is gorgeous. Really cool. Thanks for sharing and stopping by my WoW 🙂

    Jennifer @ Dream Reads

    • I know some Japanese because I watch anime, but that’s about it. 😛 Japanese fashion is THE BEST. I find a tiny shop selling their stuff on vacation last year and tried to buy the entire stock. 😛

  2. Same here!! I absolutely LOVE all things that are Japanese based ever since one of my best friends sat me down and made me watch tons of episodes of her favourite anime when we were younger x) Now I’m kind of an anime junkie myself, and I’m getting giddy-happy just thinking about the samurai stuff!

    Really awesome pick for your WOW this week, Gretchen! 😉

Leave a comment