Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All Time Favorite Characters In Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Okay, so, THIS WAS HARD. These guys are in no particular order, just numbered so I can keep track of myself. Here we go!

1. Sophie from Rachel Hawkin’s Hex Hall series

I LOVE SNARK. So, obviously, Sophie and I could be BEST friends. She is one of the most hysterical main characters I have ever read and I really DO wish she was real. (See my review of Spell Bound for more squealing!)

2. Anna from Stephanie Perkin’s Anna and the French Kiss

TALK ABOUT SOMEONE I WANT TO BE A BEST FRIEND OF MINE. Anna is just spectacular. She’s a real girl who’s absolutely hilarious and nowhere near perfect but trying. Everything about this book is amazing, but Anna just makes it perfect. (See my review for way more CAPS and squealing then should ever be written!)

3. Rose from Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series

Snarky. Sexy. Kickbutt. Rose has it ALL. I made it through the second book of the series (the only one I thought wasn’t very good) just because of her. Thank goodness, too, because the rest of them were epic. I almost couldn’t fathom a new series in the same world without Rose as a main character, even though Bloodlines did win me over.

4. Jace from Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series

Okay, I’ll admit it. I’m in love with Jace. He’s an absolute idiot sometimes, but he’s too cute about it. And, you know, kickbutt. And pretty sexy. All around, it’s pretty much a win-win. Even if that one scene in the third book does creep me out a little bit. Anyone know what I’m talking about?

5. Ellie from Courtney Allison Moulton’s Angelfire series

She’s a real teenage girl who also happens to be a reincarnated demon fighter. She is also hilarious. And kickbutt. (Does anyone else see a pattern in my favorite characters here? Because I do.) Basically, she’s my kind of girl–i.e., the girl I wish I could be. 😛 (See my review of Wings of the Wicked for, you guessed it, EVEN MORE SQUEALING.)

6. Ana from Jodi Meadow’s Incarnate

She’s a new soul in a world of souls who’ve been incarnated over and over again since basically the beginning of time. Talk about not fitting in. She also has a love of butterflies, music and is on a hard mission to find why she’s so different–and the kind of character you can fall in love with. I certainly fell in love with the book!

7. Allison from Julie Kagawa’s The Immortal Rules

Though you haven’t had the chance to meet her yet, I was lucky enough to get an ARC from NetGalley. Though, as I mentioned in my review, Allison isn’t the most likeable character to begin with, she absolutely won me over. In fact, at the end of the book, I was feeling so much sympathy for her that I shocked myself. I rarely ever care about a character THAT MUCH. Allison was worth it.

8. Kel from Tamora Pierce’s Protector of the Small series

Though I adore all of Pierce’s books, my most all around love is for Kel. Don’t ask me why because she certainly isn’t the character I’m most alike or anything, but her series has just been one of my favorites from the beginning. Kel’s unflinching loyalty to her friends and “small-folk” just caused me to want to hug her every single time. (Plus, she was surrounded by one of the most awesome casts of characters ever. I just can’t fit them all in this list.)

9. Will from Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices series

What. Tessa is great, Jem is adorable but … what can I say? I’m a sucker for the bad boy, and after Clockwork Prince I just adore him even more. Literally just want to hug him and squeeze him and hold him. Tessa can have Jem; Will is MINE. *commence catfight with rest of Team Will* 😛

10. Cleopatra Selene from Vicky Alvear Shecter’s Cleopatra’s Moon

I’d read a couple of books about Cleopatra’s daughter, but none seemed to enthrall me like this one. This Cleopatra Selene isn’t just acting out history. She’s delivering her story with spunk, pride and guts and made the story seem completely new to me. See my review for more.

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All Time Favorite Characters In Books

  1. Well like you I love love love Anna 😀 (and Etienne of course :D)and I really enjoyed INCARNATE! Cleopatra Selene sounds great, thanks for the recommendation!

  2. I have not read a number of series/books on your list! Must fix that! Love your choice of Sophie- I really wanted to add her on my list! Cleopatra’s Moon looks and sounds fantastic, am going to look for it at my library 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Great list! I haven’t read some of the titles, but they’re on my TBR list for sure. I just read the first Vampire Academy book and was completely unimpressed, but I’ve seen a few reviews stating that the series gets better after a few books. Maybe I should give it another try. After all, if I’ve slogged through so many House of Night novels, it can’t get much worse, right? 😉

Leave a comment