Waiting on Wednesday #6

Waiting on Wednesday is a feature hosted by Breaking the Spine to highlight book releases we can’t wait for!

Title: Until I Die (Click for Goodreads)

Author: Amy Plum

Expected Publication Date: May 8th, 2012

Summary from Goodreads: Kate and Vincent have overcome the odds and at last they are together in Paris, the city of lights and love.
As their romance deepens there’s one question they can’t ignore: How are they supposed to be together if Vincent can’t resist sacrificing himself to save others? Although Vincent promises that he’ll do whatever it takes to lead a normal life with Kate, will that mean letting innocent people die? When a new and surprising enemy reveals itself, Kate realizes that even more may be at stake—and that Vincent’s immortality is in jeopardy.
In Die for Me, Amy Plum created a captivating paranormal mythology with immortal revenants and a lush Paris setting. Until I Die is poised to thrill readers with more heart-pounding suspense, spellbinding romance, and a cliff-hanger ending that will leave them desperate for the third and final novel in the series.

Why I’m Waiting: I’m very cautiously excited for this book. I was mildly impressed and surprised by the first book, considering I was expecting it to be another Twilight repeat. It was very different in a lot of ways and very similar in others. I feel like this second book can take it either way. Die for Me was action packed with an awesome mythology and a great cast of overall characters. I’m genuinely curious if Until I Die will succumb to second-book-syndrome or manage to be even more awesome.

26 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday #6

  1. I actually preferred Until I Die over the first book simply BECAUSE it had gotten past all of the Twilight similarities (IMO)… I held the same opinions as you about the first one, and to me the second book was a vast improvement… But, yes, there is a slight bit of “middle book syndrome” going on, in the sense that she story definitely is leading up to something much bigger in book three.

    Hope you enjoy! It’s almost here!!

    Jenna @ Making the Grade
    My WOW

  2. I’m really looking forward to this one. I really liked the first one. It was weird to think I was reading about zombies when they were all so sexy… ;). Great pick!

    Feel free to check out my WoW here.

  3. Mh, it sounds interesting, and Amy Plum is not a bad author… I think I might read it when it appears.

    I was wondering if you would be interested in joining my #DaemonInvasion team, for the release of Jennifer Armentrout’s “Onyx”? IT’s a cool opportunity with some challenges and some free goodies too! If you’re interested check this post and comment on it. 🙂

  4. I read Die For Me and loved it. I can’t wait for this sequel just because I’m curious to know more about the characters and to discover the new ones. I heard there’ll be new characters!
    Also, I love Jules and I hope to see him more. 😉

    Thank you for stopping by my blog.

  5. Silvia says:

    This email is just the beginning. The beginning of a brand new series. “The Journeys of John and Julia.”
    Who are John and Julia?
    Julia: Though she tries to put on an above-it-all face for the world, she’s been suffering over her parents’ divorce, which she blames on her workaholic mom. And now her mom’s forcing Julia to spend the summer on her grandmotherʼs country estate in Cedarwood Ridge, 30 miles away from anything, and way too much in the middle of some serious otherworldly stuff.

    “I think life is supposed to be great but most times it sucks and then we die and that’s the end of it. That’s all I know and if there’s more I sure as day don’t want to waste my precious time figuring it out. At least not as long as I am busy with figuring out the things I can see,” she added defiantly, “like how to get my parents back together? Now that’s something I would like to know.”
    John: Juliaʼs childhood friend and alter ego, John is pretty much the opposite of everything Julia stands for. He has lived his whole life in Cedarwood Ridge and couldn’t agree more.

    This is a nightmare, he thought. Evidently Julia had indeed transformed into a girl since their last encounter, plus, to make a headache a migraine, she seemed to have shape-shifted into one of those frightening creatures Andy & Co. were so eager to get their hands on. And just how could she have grown so tall?
    Next week, a small group of bloggers will be invited to read “The Journeys of John and Julia.” We’d like to ask you to join us.

    This is just the beginning.
    – The John and Julia Team

  6. hilda says:

    I think I can’t be even more agree – Die For Me did remind of Twilight. I guess it’s the whole I’m-sad-girl-you’re-bad-boy-insta-love thing! x) I’m anxiously waiting for the second book still – it sounds too good to miss! 🙂

    Here is my WOW! 🙂

Leave a comment