Waiting on Wednesday #7

Waiting on Wednesday is a feature hosted by Breaking the Spine for pre-release books we can’t wait to read!

Title: Gilt (Click for Goodreads)

Author: Katherine Longshore

Expected Publication Date: May 15, 2012

Summary from Goodreads: In the court of King Henry VIII, nothing is free– and love comes at the highest price of all.
When Kitty Tylney’s best friend, Catherine Howard, worms her way into King Henry VIII’s heart and brings Kitty to court, she’s thrust into a world filled with fabulous gowns, sparkling jewels, and elegant parties. No longer stuck in Cat’s shadow, Kitty’s now caught between two men–the object of her affection and the object of her desire. But court is also full of secrets, lies, and sordid affairs, and as Kitty witnesses Cat’s meteoric rise and fall as queen, she must figure out how to keep being a good friend when the price of telling the truth could literally be her head.

Why I’m Waiting: BECAUSE I AM A SUCKER FOR TUDOR HISTORICAL FICTION. Finding this book made me SO excited, because it’s just one of a small line of historical fiction books coming forward on the YA shelf and that makes me SO HAPPY. Personally, Catherine Howard has been on the back end of my favorite wives of Henry VIII, but she does really touch my heart depending on how the author writes her character. I’m very excited to see how this one will turn out. Katherine Longshore is also a debut author who made my list of 12 Debut Authors I’m Looking Forward to in 2012!

7 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday #7

  1. I don’t mind a bit of historical fiction now and then. “Fabulous gowns, sparkling jewels, …sordid affairs”. I’m sold. Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my blog 🙂

  2. I’ve heard great things about this one and I haven’t read a good historical fiction in a while. So I can’t wait for this one either 🙂

  3. Ooo, good pick! I have heard so many awesome things about this one! I was lucky enough that a friend shared her arc with me, got it yesterday, and I hope to read it this weekend!
    Hope you get to read it soon too! Happy reading 🙂

Leave a comment