Top Ten Books I’d Like To See Made Into A Movie

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Let’s face it. Books-to-movies is a really touchy thing. I even blogged about it once, back when I really couldn’t find many things to blog about, it’s THAT important. 😛 However, I’ll make up this list with the hopes and dreams that studios could get a hold of these books and NOT demolish them. So is my faith in humanity. Some of these books might even have options on them or whatever, but I don’t keep track. I usually don’t even know until the trailer comes out. 😛 So here they are, in no particular order!

1. The Hex Hall series by Rachel Hawkins

Seriously, I want this to be a thing. I’d be very, very vocal about their casting choices because Sophie and Archer and, er, everyone would have to be JUST perfect, but gah. This would be a beautiful thing. Laugh out loud comedy AND magical action? I’d bankroll the project myself if I could.

2. The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead

I know this already has on option on it, thank you very much. I’m even a fan of the movie’s page on Facebook. But that DOESN’T mean that it will actually be made into a movie, so just let me lend it some more support. It SHOULD be. For the only reason that I want to see Dimitri come to life.

3. The Angelfire series by Courtney Allison Moulton

THIS WOULD BE AMAZING. Nonstop action, sarcasm and supernatural butt kicking. This would be a spectacular movie; it already reads like one! I would shave my head to have this happen. (Just please don’t actually ask me to shave my head. That would be awkward. I have an oddily shaped head.)

4. Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

How in the world would anyone NOT want to see giant dragons flying around spitting acid, a building that moves and talks AND THAT MASQUERADE. I would do ANYTHING to just see that masquerade come to life. Heck, I’d put one on. Any Incarnate fans want to help?

5. Divergent by Veronica Roth

Quite frankly, I’d be floor if something wasn’t already in the works for this, but hey. I haven’t heard anything about it, so HI LIST! I’d pay good money just to see the scene where they jump off the train. And the scene where their fears come to life. And the scene–er. Ahem.

6. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

This could be the darkest, coolest teen vampire movie ever. At least nothing would sparkle. Plus, those zombie-vamps? That’d be cool to see–especially the fight scenes. Now please?

7. The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare

I know they’re casting a Mortal Instruments movie, but I’m worried that if they screw it up we’ll never get to see the Infernal Devices come to life, which would be upsetting. The Mortal Instruments is awesome, but their supernatural world mashed with clockwork soldiers? Now that gets even cooler.

8. At least ONE of Tamora Pierce’s series

I mean, come on! You could pick anyone and have awesomesauce right there. They’ve been optioned, apparently, but the studio thinks they’d be too expensive to produce. Pardon me? I saw the Hunger Games. I can guess the fx bill for one SCENE. If there is interest, they will make it. HI, HERE’S INTEREST!

9. The City’s Son by Tom Pollock

Though I can’t share my review of this book with you guys until August, I CAN give you guys a teaser here so you know what I’m talking about. While I wasn’t impressed with some of the characterization, I’d pay money just to see this world come to life. Lightbulb people? Steel wolves? Mirror people? Yes please!

10. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Just finished this one, and it’s one of my new favorites of the year. Historical romance with a girl assassin? How can you go wrong? Plus, I’m a sucker for period pieces like this because I want to marry the costume department EVERY time. Can you blame me? Can you see the dress she’s even wearing on the COVER? This is a definite must for me.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’d Like To See Made Into A Movie

  1. Oh man, a lot of the dauntless scenes would be AWESOME in a Divergent movie! I think the Infernal Devices would have some interesting effects, too.

  2. All of these would make fantastic movies! Although I’m not really ready for ANOTHER teen vampire movie, I think having one where the vampires are actually NOT sweet and sparkly and loving would be a great change. And YES! to Grave Mercy; I haven’t read it but I have no doubt I’m going to love the book and would LOVE a movie adaptation!

    • Thankfully, I think by the time any Immortal Rules movie would be ready to view, the vampire craze would have spaced out a bit. 😛 And READ GRAVE MERCY! It was absolutely spectacular!

  3. Fab list, you’re right! we do have quite a few in common. Thanks for stopping by my TTT. I hadn’t realised they were casting a Mortal Instruments movie, exciting…though, the Clockwork series just trumps TMI for me 🙂

  4. Divergent has been optioned with a tentative date of 2015. My guess is they’ll wait to make sure the second and third books live up to the promise before committing the project.

  5. Gah! How could I have forgotten Hex Hall! That would be so much fun to see on screen. It has so much potential to be a great film series! I have Grave Mercy on my TBR pile, and it just looks like it is made for book-to-film adaptation. Love historical pieces. Thanks for stopping by my top ten 🙂

  6. Lori says:

    Great great list! I love the ones I’ve read and totally agree with your choices and will be adding the ones I haven’t to my TBR list. And I agree with your worries about TMI. I’m not sure it’ll end up translating well to the big screen and then TID won’t stand a chance.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

  7. Angelfire series! 🙂 Yes please and also a side of Divergent while we’re at it! Haven’t been able to read Grave Mercy yet…you can believe it’s on my TBR pile though!! Great list!

Leave a Reply

