Waiting on Wednesday #20

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine!

Title: Victoria Rebels

Author: Carolyn Meyer

ETA: January 1, 2013

Synopsis from Goodreads: Queen Victoria’s personal journals inform this captivating first-person account of one of history’s most prominent female leaders.

Queen Victoria most certainly left a legacy—under her rule as the longest reigning female monarch in history, the British Empire was greatly expanded and significant industrial, cultural, political, scientific, and military changes occurred within the United Kingdom. To be a young woman in a time when few other females held positions of power was to lead in a remarkable age—and because Queen Victoria kept personal journals, this historical novel from award-winning author Carolyn Meyer shares authentic emotional insight along with accurate information, weaving a true story of intrigue and romance.

Why I’m Waiting: I don’t know about you guys, but I LOVED Carolyn Meyer when I was a kid. All those Royal Diaries books, her Tudor books – I STILL own them all. And I still mean to own her latest, Cleopatra Confesses. I just have such a soft spot for Meyer – plus I LOVE the story of Queen Victoria. I could have watched The Young Victoria over and over again. This one just came up on Edelweiss, so I have my fingers crossed!

12 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday #20

  1. I love the cover. Very interesting. I don’t read much historical fiction, but when I do I will make sure to check this out! Great pick and thanks for visiting 🙂

  2. Fascinating. I don’t think I’ve seen a book like this about Queen Victoria before (though I admit I don’t look at too much historical fiction). I like that there are actual diaries that the author was able to use. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    ~Erika @ One A Day Y.A.

  3. I love historical fictions and the romance between Victoria and Albert is so sweet. Rarely do you hear stories of true love when it comes to royalty.

    -Angeline

Leave a comment