Top Ten Beach Reads

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

So here is my definition of a beach read: mind candy. I don’t want anything in the way of emotional upheaval, and I just want to laugh a little. My brain doesn’t want to have to work hard to process anything. So here are my top ten beach reads, in no particular order.

The Boyfriend App1. The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise

This book is like a rom-com on acid, and there’s some unexpected scifi undertones that get tossed in as well. It’s a rollicking good read that requires you to turn your brain off to believe everything.

2. Sweet Peril/Sweet Evil by Wendy HigginsSweet Evil

These books are such guilty pleasures for me, mostly because I find the male lead ridiculously attractive. If there was ever a beach read…

the selection3. The Selection/The Elite by Kiera Cass

It’s like the Bachelor + Disney Princesses + mind glitter. I have to be in the right mood for these books, and beach reading sounds like a good option.

4. Meant to Be by Lauren MorrillMeant to Be

A cutesy rom-com that takes place in London. I rest my case.

Endlessly5. The Paranormalcy series by Kiersten White

If there was ever mind candy, it’s a supernatural fighting girl with a tendency towards pink, glitter and leopard print. The main character is so ridiculous sometimes I can’t even take her, but she makes me happy inside on so many levels.

6. Of Poseidon by Anna BanksOf Poseidon

Alright, this is kinda cliche because this is a mermaid beach read hahaha. But still. This book is great fun, and I love the main character, and the fact that it’s a mermaid book is kinda perfect.

Pushing the Limits7. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Okay, this book isn’t really mind candy as much as my favorite ya contemporary ever. But…you should still read it, so.

8. The Hex Hall series by Rachel HawkinsHex Hall

Funny, sarcastic, beautiful mind candy that makes me so so happy when I just GLIMPSE the COVERS.

anna and the french kiss9. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Absolutely none of my best top ten lists are complete without this book. It is the best of everything.

10. Perfect Chemistry by Simone ElkelesPerfect Chemistry

She was the first author who made me think ya contemporary romances could be worth reading. Perfect romantic mind candy.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Beach Reads

  1. Love your list, Gretchen! I totally agree with your picks, especially PERFECT CHEMISTRY and MEANT TO BE! I’m about to read PUSHING THE LIMITS, so I’m happy to see it’s on your list… mind candy sounds perfect right now!

  2. There are some brilliant picks here! I love how there’s so many that I haven’t even read yet, but will be excited to dive into over the Summer, thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a comment