Top Ten Books Whose Covers Made Me Buy It

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s TTT is actually a TTT Rewind, meaning I could pick whatever past topic I wanted. I chose this one because, a lot of times, I am ALL about the covers. I mean seriously. If it sparkles and sounds halfway decent, I am bound to pick it up. This has not always worked out for me, but sometimes it has been the best way to choose EVER. Get ready for some COVER EYE CANDY!

(All title links go to Goodreads. All links in the paragraphs go to my reviews.)

1. Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

If you have to ask why, you must not have seen this cover. And this book is just as gorgeous as the cover. There is way too much squealing in my review.

2. Wilde’s Fire by Krystal Wade

In a world where most girls are wearing black dresses and looking depressed, this girl was moving and very blue with magic or something. It looked exciting to me! However, I was not entirely impressed.

3. The Shapeshifter’s Secret by Heather Ostler

This cover looks freaking amazing and you cannot tell me otherwise. The font, her make up … everything. If only they had spent more money on the editing department instead of the cover, maybe I wouldn’t have DNFed this book.

4. The Selection by Kiera Cass

Yeah, yeah, I know, opinions about this one abound. However, I picked it up because it looked like fun, sugary fluff and I was entirely right. And I enjoyed it too.

5. Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey

Look at that cover. How could that cover contain a book any less than awesome, right? Wrong. This book inspired a rant so fierce I was afraid to post it. But I did. Because *CUE ANGRY GRETCHEN*

6. Wither by Lauren DeStefano

I had actually had a friend whose opinion I respect tell me she hadn’t enjoyed this one, so I was rather wary about picking this one up. Then I saw the cover and decided to take a chance. And I’m so glad I did.

7. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

I have no idea if I picked this up more because of the gorgeous cover or because of the fact that Tamora Pierce’s blurb is on the front cover. Either way, it was a really spectacular decision. So much love for this book right here.

8. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Okay, I totally picked this up for other reasons too. HOWEVER, once I saw the cover, I just had to pick this up to ask the girl on the cover, “What in the name of all that’s chocolate forced you to put on THAT?” The book then went on to inspire the mother of all reviews, so I guess that was worth it too.

9. Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Actually, I’m pretty sure it was the font that got me on this one. I just have a THING for this font. And the color purple. So that. And the book wasn’t half bad either! (The second one was better.)

10. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Yeah, so, sometimes the girls in dresses utterly and completely hook me. This is one of them. And the book was such a quirky, fun ride I was glad it caught me!

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Whose Covers Made Me Buy It

  1. I have to agree! All of these covers are sooo beautiful! I thought the cover of Wither was my favorite but then I saw the one for Shatter Me and The Girl of Fire and Thorns and all the others, actually! I’m a sucker for covers….Thanks for sharing!

  2. New to your blog. Haven’t read any of these except Wilde’s Fire and I wasn’t impressed either. Some of the others are on my TBR list. Don’t you hate when a cover lets you down though? I was glad to see you post some that were successes and some as you mentioned that perhaps they should have spent their money elsewhere. Thanks for the pros and the cons.

Leave a comment